Community Festivals

12 h Open Space

Puppet/ Figure/ Object Theater
Photo: Annika Ley

Every year at the end of the season, Schaubude Berlin opens its doors for a long night celebrating the diversity of independent puppet, figure and object theater in Berlin: 12 hours filled with productions, theatrical experiments, puppet comedy, video art, installation and walk acts – for audience members of all ages. Here are the rules of the game: all theater makers with work of a maximum length of 45 minutes in which puppets, figures, objects or forms of animation with new media are used can apply to have their work presented in the festival. The schedule of programming is decided solely by the works submitted. In addition, an audience award will be  given within both the children’s theater schedule of programming as well as the evening schedule of programming.

Presented by Schaubude Berlin

schaubude.berlin

12h open space is held annually at the end of the season.

This year's edition (June 20, 2020) had to be canceled due to the corona pandemic. Please visit the festival website for more detailed information.

Ausufern

Dance
Performance
Music
Site-Specific
Photo: Thore Rehbach

The programming series AUSUFERN by Uferstudios is held annually in the summer since 2016 and initiates and presents art projects which especially focus on social space and attempt to initiate dialog with the neighborhood. The programming approach refers back to a notion of choreography which understands itself not only as production, but as a social practice as well. This brings the desire of all partners of Uferstudios to open the location much further forward. AUSUFERN is artistically implemented together with Berlin-based and international artists as well as with members of the urban society.

Presented by Uferstudios GmbH

uferstudios.com

Next edition expected in summer 2021.

BAM! Berliner Festival für aktuelles Musiktheater

Music Theater
Music Performance
Photo: Marcus Lieberenz

BAM!, the festival of Berlin‘s independent music theater community, brings together a dense schedule of programming providing exciting views of new paths in music theater. In doing so, the focus is placed less on opera but still on forms that follow the original question of the intertwining of sound and action on a stage. New theater strategies take the place of earlier narrative forms. They are closely tied to working methods that can hardly be aligned with the structures of repertory and ensemble theaters; instead, they are rooted within the independent performing arts community. The goal of BAM! is to bring the approaches of this type of theater together, to place them in a relationship to each other and to purse the question of where music theater can lead today.

Presented by Zeitgenössisches Musiktheater Berlin (ZMB)

https://bam-berlin.org/ - - bam-berlin.org

The next edition of Berlin Showcase is expected to take place in 2021.

Berlin Showcase

Performing Arts for very young Audiences
Photo: David Beecroft

Berlin Showcase is a festival featuring current productions for very young audiences in and from Berlin. Theater o.N. is the initiator and presents the format together with other performance venues such as Schaubude Berlin. The focus is placed on the presentation, networking and artistic research of the interdisciplinary Berlin arts community creating work for very young audiences. Encounters with the international community of practitioners are made possible and the work of Berlin-based theater artists is presented to national and  international curators and presenters.

Presented by Theater o.N.

theater-on.de/berliner-schaufenster

The next edition of Berlin Showcase is expected to take place in 2021.

Monologfestival

Spoken Theater
Photo: Dejan Patic

The Monologfestival at Theaterdiscounter has been held every two years since 2007. For each edition, it is coproducing up to ten new theater solos exploring current social and political topics. The new productions of these monologues and performances, which primarily come from Berlin’s independent performing arts community, result in a polyphonic exploration of the topics during this festival. At the same time, the artists and collectives fully investigate the complete range of the genre of monologue with their diverse aesthetic signatures. The Monologfestival presents autonomous individual statements that are very well-suited for touring as they lack elaborate sets. Showcases of selected festival monologues from the 2019 edition are planned for the 2020/21 season at Lichthof Theater Hamburg and studio NAXOS Frankfurt/Main, amongst other locations.

Presented by Theaterdiscounter

theaterdiscounter.de

The next edition of the Monologfestival will take place in autumn 2021.

From November 6 to 8, 2020, the Monologfestival Showcase VOM ENDE HER NEU will take place at Theaterdiscounter.

Open Spaces

Tanz
Performance
Photo: Dieter Hartwig

In 2014, Tanzfabrik Berlin founded a new format, Open Spaces, which brings together the current projects of the artists who work in the Tanzfabrik studios over the course of the year. This means that Open Spaces is not a curated festival; it refrains from providing a central topic and its understanding of dance is intentionally broad and diverse. The artists research connections in interpersonal, social, political and physical spaces, refer to past tendencies in their work and invent as well as discover new methods and concentrations for their work. Open Spaces offers the audience a schedule of programming which is rich in diverse event formats: These include conversations and exhibitions as well as performances, from the first rehearsal impressions all the way to the premiere.

Presented by Tanzfabrik Berlin

tanzfabrik-berlin.de

Two to three times a year; next edition: Oktober 16 to November 8, 2020.

Berlin Performing Arts Festival

Independent Performing Arts Made in Berlin
Photos: Paula Reissig

Since 2016, the Berlin Performing Arts Festival has presented the diversity of Berlin’s independent performing arts community at numerous theaters and performance venues throughout the entire city on an annual basis. With LAFT Berlin as the organizer, the festival is realized by the independent performing arts community itself. Organized along a variety of themes, the six-day schedule of programming collects work from all genres. The festival dedicates a special focus to emerging artists with the programming series Introducing…. The schedule of programming is supported by an ancillary schedule of events with communication, exchange and network formats. The festival’s schedule of programming is thus intended both for Berlin’s audience as well as visitors to the city and interested visiting industry professionals from throughout Germany and abroad.

Presented by LAFT Berlin — State Association for the Independent Performing Arts LAFT in cooperation with Ballhaus Ost, HAU Hebbel am Ufer, Sophiensæle and Theaterdiscounter

performingarts-festival.de/en

The next edition of Berlin Performing Arts Festival will take place from May 19 to 24, 2020 as a digital version. Please visit the festival website for more detailed information.

Plataforma Berlin

Dance
Performance
Installation
Video Dance
Photo: Ricardo Léon

Plataforma Berlin enters into an exchange with Ibero-American and Berlin-based artists and aesthetics and opens an intercontinental space for dialogue in which the current crisis of humanity is researched: over a period of three weeks, topics such as climate change, (post)colonialism, violence and the crisis of the relationship between humanity and nature come into focus against the backdrop of the political, ecological and social situation in the Americas. The festival reflects in an interdisciplinary manner on the transformation of decolonialization processes and the forms of survival that artists could develop during the migration to Berlin as a part of local utopias, thus creating a relationship between history and the future of humanity.

Initiated by Martha Hincapié Charry together with Ibero-American artists, radialsystem, Verlin, DOCK11 

plataformaberlin.de

Plataforma Berlin is held annually.

This years edition will take place in a smaller form from August 6 to 9, 2020. The next regular edition of the festival will be held in summer 2021.

Tanznacht Berlin

Dance
Performance
Photo: Dieter Hartwig

Tanznacht Berlin presents the diversity of choreographic work by artists living and working in Berlin. Initiated in the year 2000 as part of the 20th anniversary celebration of Tanzfabrik Berlin, the festival has taken place at Uferstudios in Wedding since 2008. The format changes every two years by including a new curator and is intended to reflect changes within artistic processes and public discourses. As an artistic congregation of Berlin’s dance community, Tanznacht sends clear cultural policy signals and provides an opportunity for intensive exchange. Since 2012, the festival has been offered every other year, alternating with the discursive format Tanznacht Forum. The heart of the 2020 Tanznacht festival will be formed by a choreographic group exhibition on the topic of displacement.

Presented by Tanzfabrik Berlin

tanznachtberlin.de

 Every two years; due to the Corona-Pandemic the next edition will be split up in two seperate events:

Tanznacht Berlin 2020 “Vertigo (Part One)" from September 9 to 13, 2020.

Tanznacht Berlin 2020 “Vertigo (Part Two)” ecpected in July 2021.

Tanztage Berlin

Dance
Performance
Photos: Gerhard F. Ludwig, Natalia Labake, Foteini Christofilopoulou

Tanztage Berlin has become one of the most important national and international platforms for new choreographers in Berlin since its founding in 1996. Participation in the festival is an important step toward a professional career for many artists – they receive financial and dramaturgical support. Additional focuses of the festival are international cooperations with many nations, including Iran, Greece, Egypt, Poland, Israel, Sri Lanka and Mexico, as well as new communication and feedback formats. After the founders Barbara Friedrich and Benjamin Schälike, the festival was curated by Inge Koks, followed by Peter Pleyer. Anna Mülter has been the artistic director of Tanztage Berlin since 2014.

Presented by Sophiensæle

sophiensaele.com

Tanztage Berlin is held annually in January; the next edition in 2021.

The Expo

Performance
Spoken Theater
Dance
Photos: Jerun Vahle

Since 2013, this annual festival has presented performances from the diverse yet often still undiscovered international independent performing arts community of Berlin with a working language of English. Over four evenings, each with one full-length or two shorter productions, the festival presents a cross section of this community across all performing arts genres. Within ExpLoRE, the newcomer’s platform, the Sunday afternoon is open to smaller formats or work still under development. The 2020 schedule of programming will be curated by festival founder Daniel Brunet, producing artistic director of English Theatre Berlin, as well as choreographer Olivia Hyunsin Kim and theater director Shlomo Lieberman, from the applications received based on the criteria of artistic excellence, internationalism and creative diversity.

Presented by English Theatre Berlin | International Performing Arts Center

etberlin.de

(Inter)national Festivals in Berlin

Augenblick mal!

Children's & Youth Theater

Presented by KJTZ and ASSITEJ e.V. in cooperation with theaters in Berlin

www.augenblickmal.de/en

The Augenblick mal! festival takes place every two years. The next edition will be held from April 16 to 21, 2021.

Berlin Circus Festival

Contemporary Circus
Photos: Miikkael Kukkula

The Berlin Circus Festival is the festival for contemporary circus in the heart of Berlin. It invites the audience to discover the breathtaking mix of circus, dance and performance during eight high-class productions under our big top. 10 days of festival with young, international artists from all over Europe. Stunning acrobatics, juggling, theatre, dance and a unique festival site.

The festival features renowned productions, spectacular shows, emerging artists and much more. It is the perfect time to discover the so-called contemporary circus, which is already enchanting an incredible number of spectators abroad!

On the site, there are as well art exhibitions, live music and savour delicacies with your drinks in the rays of the late Berlin summer sun.

Presented by Berlin Circus Production

berlin-circus-festival.de

The Berlin Circus Festival takes place annually in summer.

This year's edition has to be postponed due to the corona pandemic and is expected to take place in Winter 2020/21. Please visit the festival website for more detailed information.

Fratz International

Performing Arts for Very Young Audiences

Fratz International is the only festival nationwide held especially for participants aged zero to six. Every two years, Fratz hosts a selection of outstanding visiting productions from various countries in order to make these works accessible to Berlin audiences and the national children‘s theater scene in Germany and to promote international exchange.

Grounded in the belief that art and culture should be available to all persons regardless of age or social or cultural origin, a core element of the festival is that the visiting productions are shown at locations dispersed throughout Berlin — in temporary venues in districts where theater productions otherwise are rare.

Presented by Theater o.N.

http://www.fratz-festival.de/en/fratz/

Fratz is held annually.

This year's edition (April 24 to 29) has to be cancelled due to the Corona pandemic. Please visit the festival website for more detailed information.

Freischwimmen

Theater
Performance
Live Art
The Agency "Love Fiction", Photo: Piotr Rybkowski

Freischwimmen is a production platform for performance and theatre, supported by brut Wien, FFT Düsseldorf, Gessnerallee Zürich, Schwankhalle Bremen, Sophiensæle Berlin, and Theater Rampe Stuttgart.

Since 2018, the platform has constituted itself in a new constellation and under the title FREISCHWIMMEN as an international exchange and production platform for young groups and artists* from theatre and performance. This reorientation is aimed in particular at making the model more flexible: there are now individual modules with residencies, workshop shows and guest performances and labs, which can be combined in different ways according to the needs of the artists and capacities of the theatres.

The modules are intended to enable young artists* and groups to better network and establish themselves both locally and nationally. This is intended to create space for experiments, to liberate quickly produced pieces from the pressure of expectations, and to facilitate long-term development work on the part of the production houses.

The collaborating venues nominate artists who will be invited to FREISCHWIMMEN following a joint selection process.

www.freischwimmer-festival.com

The collaborating venues make individual decisions about the organisation of FREISCHWIMMEN festivals, curated by themselves, or the invitation of individual productions to already existing festivals and thematic focuses.

Ikarus-Spielzeit

Children's & Youth Theater

Presented by JugendKulturService gGmbH Berlin

http://jugendkulturservice.de

The performance series takes place annually in the fall and ends with the awards ceremony in November.

No Limits

Theater
Dance
Performance
Film
Installation

Presented by Lebenshilfe gGmbH Kunst und Kultur in cooperation with HAU Hebbel am Ufer, Theater Thikwa at F40, Ballhaus Ost, Sophiensäle

www.no-limits-festival.de

The festival takes place every two years. The next edition will be held in 2021.

Purple

Dance For Young Audience
Iron Skulls Co. "Sinestesia", Photo: David Brock

In addition to a professional stage program featuring numerous dance performances, the festival offers an extensive supporting program. In collaboration with participating artists, there are introductions to the works performed, discussions, and free workshops for students of all ages and teachers.

The goal of the festival is to make children and young people curious and enthusiastic about dance. To do so, it puts together a joyful and energetic program presenting various aesthetic approaches and types of content from the international contemporary dance scene. The festival not only wish to diversify young people's viewing habits, but also encourage them to participate, empathize, and think outside the box.

The festival is aimed at children and young people ages 6 and over and at anyone who is interested. Most of the dance performances will take place in the morning, in order to enable school classes to attend during school hours.

The festival's main venue is the Uferstudios in Berlin's Wedding area. It cooperates
with TanzZeit e.V. at the Podewil (in Berlin-Mitte), and Theater Strahl.HalleOstkreuz (in Berlin-Lichtenberg).

Artistic Director: Canan Erek
Festival Management: Inge Zysk

purple-tanzfestival.de

Purple - International Dance Festival for Young Audiences will take place every year in January; the next edition will take place from January 16 to 24, 2021.

Tanz im August

Dance

Tanz im August is Berlin's international festival for contemporary dance. Each year, Tanz im August, presented by HAU Hebbel am Ufer, invites the audience to join the festival and experience four weeks of the complete dance scope. Productions of international stars, newscomers and choreographs of the Berlin scene bring their works to locations all over the city, among them numerous World and German premieres. Tanz im August also offers many audience engagement formats which offer unexpected access to the programme for the visitors.

Presented by HAU Hebbel am Ufer

english.tanzimaugust.de

The festival takes place annually in August.

This year's edition (August 7 to 29, 2020) has to be canceled in physical form due to the corona pandemic and instead takes place as Tanz im August Special Edition 2020. Please visit the festival website for more detailed information.

Theater der Dinge

Contemporary Puppet/Object Theater
Théâtre sans Toit "Cubix", Photo: Jean Yves Lacôte

The international festival THEATER DER DINGE is one of Germany’s most important festivals for contemporary figure and object theatre. Choosing different themes to focus on, the festival reflects the current trends and currents of the genre, explores peripheries and pushes experimentation at the intersections with affiliated arts. The productions, installations and exhibitions that are invited to participate all possess a unique artistic language, a wholly individual aesthetic quality and a certain urgency with respect to their content.

Presented by Schaubude Berlin

www.schaubude.berlin

The festival takes place annually in October/November, the next edition from November 4 to 10, 2020.

Festivals der Berliner Szene

12 h Open Space

Puppen-/ Figuren-/ Objekttheater
Foto: Annika Ley

Jährlich zum Spielzeitende gibt die Schaubude Berlin all ihre Räume frei für eine lange Nacht der Vielfalt des freien Puppen-, Figuren- und Objekttheaters in Berlin: 12 Stunden mit Inszenierungen, szenischen Experimenten, Puppen-Comedy, Videokunst, Installationen und Walk Acts - für Kinder und Erwachsene. Die Spielregeln: Anmelden können sich alle Theaterschaffenden mit Arbeiten von maximal 45 Minuten Länge, in denen Puppen, Figuren, Objekte oder Animationsformen neuer Medien eingesetzt werden. Allein der Eingang der Anmeldungen entscheidet über das Programm. Zudem wird jeweils ein Publikumspreis für das Kinder- und Abendprogramm verliehen.

Veranstaltet von Schaubude Berlin

schaubude.berlin

12 h Open Space findet jährlich zum Ende der Spielzeit statt.

Die diesjährige Ausgabe (20. Juni 2020) musste aufgrund der Corona-Pandemie leider entfallen. Nähere Informationen finden sich auf der Festival-Website.

Ausufern

Tanz
Performance
Musik
Site-Specific
Foto: Thore Rehbach

Die Uferstudios-Programmreihe AUSUFERN findet seit 2016 jährlich in den Sommermonaten statt und initiiert Kunstprojekte, die in besonderem Maße in den gesellschaftlichen Raum hineinwirken und den Dialog mit der Nachbarschaft suchen. Der Programmansatz bezieht sich auf einen Begriff von Choreografie, der diese nicht nur als Inszenierung, sondern auch als eine soziale Praxis auffasst. Damit wird der Wunsch aller Partner*innen der Uferstudios nach einer Öffnung des Standorts wesentlich vorangebracht. AUSUFERN wird zusammen mit in Berlin lebenden und internationalen Künstler*innen ebenso wie mit Auftraggeber*innen aus der Stadtgesellschaft künstlerisch umgesetzt.

Veranstaltet von Uferstudios GmbH

uferstudios.com

Nächste Ausgabe voraussichtlich im Sommer 2021.

BAM! Berliner Festival für aktuelles Musiktheater

Musiktheater
Musikperformance
Fotos: Marcus Lieberenz

Mit seiner freien Musiktheaterszene markiert Berlin eines der wichtigsten Zentren zeitgenössischen Musiktheaters. Nirgendwo gibt es eine größere Anzahl von Akteurinnen und Akteuren, Gruppen und Ensembles, die sich einem alternativen Musiktheater jenseits der Oper verschrieben haben. BAM! ist das Festival dieser Szene. Mit einem dichten Programm aufregender Ausblicke auf neue Wege im Musiktheater lockt es alle zwei Jahre für die Dauer von jeweils vier Tagen auch internationales Publikum in die Stadt. Zum Zeitpunkt des Erscheinens dieser Publikation ist noch unklar, ob die nächste Austragung wie geplant im Herbst 2021 stattfinden kann oder sich Corvid-19-bedingt ins Frühjahr 2022 verschiebt.

ZMB (Veranstaltet von Zeitgenössisches Musiktheater Berlin e. V.)

info(at)musiktheater-berlin.de

Die nächste Ausgabe des BAM! findet voraussichtlich zwischen Herbst 2021 und Frühjahr 2022 statt

Berliner Schaufenster

Darstellende Künste für die Jüngsten
Foto: David Beecroft

Das Berliner Schaufenster ist eine Schau aktueller Produktionen für sehr junge Zuschauer*innen in und aus Berlin. Das Theater o.N. ist Initiator und veranstaltet das Format gemeinsam mit anderen Spielorten wie z. B. der Schaubude Berlin. Der Fokus liegt auf der Präsentation, Vernetzung und künstlerischen Forschung der Berliner Kunstszene für die Jüngsten. Begegnungen mit der internationalen Fachszene werden ermöglicht und die Berliner Theaterkunst wird den nationalen und internationalen Kurator*innen und Veranstalter*innen vorgestellt.

Veranstaltet von Theater o.N.

theater-on.de/berliner-schaufenster

Das nächste Berliner Schaufenster findet voraussichtlich 2021 statt.

Monologfestival

Sprechtheater
Foto: Dejan Patic

Das Monologfestival am Berliner Theaterdiscounter findet seit 2007 im zweijährigen Rhythmus statt. Es koproduziert zu jeder Ausgabe bis zu zehn neue Theatersolos unter einer gesellschaftlich und politisch aktuellen Themenvorgabe. Die monologischen  Neuinszenierungen und Performances – überwiegend aus der freien Szene Berlins – verdichten sich im Festival zu einer vielstimmigen inhaltlichen Auseinandersetzung. Gleichzeitig loten die Künstler*innen und Kollektive mit ihren unterschiedlichen ästhetischen Handschriften die Spannbreite der Gattung Monolog aus. Das Monologfestival präsentiert autonome Einzelstatements, die ohne Bühnenbild für das spätere Touring bestens geeignet sind. Showcases ausgewählter Festivalmonologe der Ausgabe 2019 sind für die Spielzeit 2020/21 in Planung u. a. am Lichthof Theater Hamburg und studioNAXOS Frankfurt/Main.

Veranstaltet von Theaterdiscounter

theaterdiscounter.de

Die nächste Ausgabe des Monologfestivals findet im Herbst 2021 statt.

Vom 6. bis 8. November 2020 findet am Theaterdiscounter das Monologfestival Showcase VOM ENDE HER NEU statt.

Open Spaces

Tanz
Performance
Foto: Dieter Hartwig

2014 begründete die Tanzfabrik Berlin mit Open Spaces ein neues Format, das die aktuellen Projekte derjenigen Künstler*innen zusammenbringt, die über das Jahr in den Studios der Tanzfabrik arbeiten. Open Spaces ist daher kein kuratiertes Festival: Es gibt kein Thema vor und der Tanzbegriff ist bewusst sehr weit und vielfältig gefasst. Die Künstler*innen erforschen Zusammenhänge in zwischenmenschlichen, gesellschaftlichen, politischen und physischen Räumen, beziehen in ihrem Schaffen vergangene Tendenzen ein und (er)finden neue Methoden wie Arbeitsschwerpunkte. Open Spaces bietet dem Publikum ein Programm mit unterschiedlichsten Veranstaltungsformaten: Gespräche und Ausstellungen ebenso wie Performances, von ersten Probeneindrücken bis zur Premiere.

Veranstaltet von Tanzfabrik Berlin

tanzfabrik-berlin.de

Zwei bis drei Mal jährlich, nächste Ausgabe 16. Oktober bis 8. November 2020.

PAF Performing Arts Festival Berlin

Darstellende Künste aus Berlin
Foto: Paula Reissig

Seit 2016 bildet das Performing Arts Festival Berlin im jährlichen Rhythmus die Vielfalt der freien darstellenden Künste an zahlreichen Bühnen und Spielstätten in ganz Berlin ab. Mit dem LAFT Berlin als Veranstalter wird das Festival durch die freie Szene selbst getragen. Entlang thematischer Linien versammelt das sechstägige Programm Arbeiten aller Genres. Dem künstlerischen Nachwuchs widmet das Festival mit der Programmreihe „Introducing…“ einen eigenen Schwerpunkt. Begleitet wird der Spielplan durch ein Rahmenprogramm mit Vermittlungs-, Begegnungs- und Netzwerkformaten. Das Festivalprogramm richtet sich damit sowohl an das Berliner Publikum, als auch an Besucher*innen der Stadt und interessierte Fachgäste aus dem In- und Ausland.

Veranstaltet von LAFT – Landesverband freie darstellende Künste Berlin e.V. in Kooperation mit Ballhaus Ost, HAU Hebbel am Ufer, Sophiensæle und Theaterdiscounter.

performingarts-festival.de

Die nächste Ausgabe des Performing Arts Festivals findet vom 19. bis 24. Mai 2020 in digitaler Form statt. Nähere Infos finden sich auf der Festival-Website.

Plataforma Berlin

Tanz
Performance
Installation
Videotanz
Foto: Ricardo Léon

Plataforma Berlin tritt in einen Austausch mit iberoamerikanischen und Berliner Künstler*innen und Ästhetiken und eröffnet einen interkontinentalen Dialograum, in dem die gegenwärtige Krise der Menschheit erforscht wird: Über einen Zeitraum von drei Wochen stehen vor dem Hintergrund der politischen, ökologischen und sozialen Situation in Nord- und Südamerika Themen wie Klimawandel, (Post-)Kolonialismus, Gewalt und die Krise der Beziehung zwischen Mensch und Natur im Fokus. Transdisziplinär reflektiert das Festival die Transformation von Entkolonialisierungsprozessen und die Überlebensformen, die Künstler*innen bei ihrer Auswanderung nach Berlin oder als Teil lokaler Utopien entwickeln konnten und setzt dabei Geschichte und Zukunft der Menschheit miteinander in Beziehung.

Initiiert von Martha Hincapié Charry zusammen mit iberoamerikanischen Künstler*innen, radialsystem, Verlin, DOCK11

plataformaberlin.de

Plataforma Berlin findet jährlich statt.

Für dieses Jahr ist aufgrund der Corona-Pandemie ein eingeschränktes Programm vom 6. bis 9. August 2020 geplant. Die nächste reguläre Ausgabe findet im Sommer 2021 statt.

Tanznacht Berlin

Tanz
Performance
Fotos: Dieter Hartwig

Die Tanznacht Berlin präsentiert die Vielfalt choreografischer Arbeiten von in Berlin lebenden und arbeitenden Künstler*innen. Initiiert im Jahr 2000 infolge des 20-jährigen Bestehens der Tanzfabrik Berlin wird das Festival seit 2008 in den Uferstudios im Wedding ausgerichtet. Das Format ändert sich alle zwei Jahre durch die Einbindung einer wechselnden kuratorischen Leitung und hat den Anspruch, den Veränderungen von künstlerischen Verfahrensweisen und Publikumsdiskursen gerecht zu werden. Als künstlerische Zusammenkunft der Berliner Tanzszene setzt die Tanznacht neben einem intensiven Austausch auch kulturpolitische Signale. Seit 2012 wird das Festival im jährlichen Wechsel mit dem diskursiven Format Tanznacht Forum veranstaltet. Das Herzstück der Tanznacht 2020 bildet eine choreografische Gruppenausstellung zum Thema Displacement.

Veranstaltet von Tanzfabrik Berlin

tanznachtberlin.de

Alle zwei Jahre; aufgrund der Corona-Pandemie findet die nächste Ausgabe zweigeteilt statt:

Tanznacht Berlin 2020 “Vertigo (Part One)" vom 9. bis 13. September 2020.

Tanznacht Berlin 2020 “Vertigo (Part Two)” voraussichtlich im Juli 2021.

Tanztage Berlin

Tanz
Performance
Fotos: Gerhard F. Ludwig, Natalia Labake, Foteini Christofilopoulou

Die Tanztage Berlin sind seit ihrer Gründung 1996 national und international zu einer der wichtigsten Plattformen für den choreografischen Nachwuchs in Berlin geworden. Die Teilnahme an den Tanztagen Berlin ist für viele Künstler*innen ein wichtiger Schritt in Richtung einer professionellen Karriere – sie erhalten finanzielle Unterstützung und dramaturgische Begleitung. Weitere Schwerpunkte des Festivals sind internationale Kooperationen u. a. mit Iran, Griechenland, Ägypten, Polen, Israel, Sri Lanka und Mexiko sowie neue Vermittlungs- und Feedbackformate. Nach den Gründer*innen Barbara Friedrich und Benjamin Schälike kuratierten Inge Koks, Peter Pleyer und zuletzt von 2014-2020 Anna Mülter das Festival. Ab 2021 übernimmt Mateusz Szymanòwka die künstlerische Leitung der Tanztage Berlin.

Veranstaltet von Sophiensæle

sophiensaele.com

Die Tanztage Berlin finden jährlich im Januar statt, die nächste Ausgabe 2021.

The Expo

Performance
Sprechtheater
Tanz
Fotos: Jerun Vahle

Das jährlich stattfindende Festival präsentiert seit 2013 Arbeiten aus der vielfältigen aber größtenteils noch unentdeckten internationalen freien Szene Berlins mit Arbeitssprache Englisch. Vier Festivalabende mit je einer abendfüllenden oder zwei kürzeren Produktionen zeigen einen Querschnitt dieser Szene über alle Genregrenzen hinweg. Der Sonntag ist als Nachwuchsplattform ExpLoRE für kleinere oder noch unfertige Formate geöffnet. Kuratiert wird das Programm 2020 von Festivalgründer Daniel Brunet, produzierender künstlerischer Leiter des English Theatre Berlin, sowie Choreografin Olivia Hyunsin Kim und Bühnenregisseur Shlomo Lieberman. Auswahlkriterien hierbei sind künstlerische Exzellenz, internationaler Hintergrund der Beteiligten und Verortung in der Vielfalt der Berliner Szene.

Veranstaltet von English Theatre Berlin | International Performing Arts Center

etberlin.de

Jährlich, nächste Ausgabe voraussichtlich im Herbst 2020 oder Frühjahr 2021.

(Inter)nationale Festivals in Berlin

Augenblick mal!

Kinder- & Jugendtheater

„Augenblick mal!“ ist die Biennale des Theaters für junges Publikum in Deutschland. Es fördert seit fast 30 Jahren die Entwicklung des Kinder- und Jugendtheaters und schafft eine Öffentlichkeit für diese Form der Theaterkunst. Alle zwei Jahre zeigt das einzige bundesweite Festival des Theaters für Kinder und Jugendliche zehn außergewöhnliche und impulsgebende Inszenierungen aus Deutschland. Die nationale Plattform des Theaters für junges Publikum bietet dem Fachpublikum aus Deutschland und dem Ausland neben den Gastspielen ebenfalls Raum für künstlerischen Austausch und Reflexion.

Veranstaltet von KJTZ und ASSITEJ e.V. in Kooperation mit Berliner Theatern

www.augenblickmal.de

Das Festival Augenblick mal! findet alle zwei Jahre statt, die nächste Ausgabe vom 16. bis 21. April 2021.

Berlin Circus Festival

Zeitgenössischer Zirkus
Fotos: Miikkael Kukkula

Das Berlin Circus Festival ist das Festival für zeitgenössischen Circus auf dem Tempelhofer Feld in Berlin. An 10 Tagen kann das Publikum die atemberaubende Mischung von Artistik, Tanz und Performance bei vielen verschiedenen Produktionen und Formaten im großen Zelt zu entdecken. Das Festival mit jungen und internationalen Künstlern aus ganz Europa!

Das Festival zeigt renommierte Produktionen, spektakuläre Shows, großartige Nachwuchstalente und vieles mehr. Es bringt den zeitgenössischen Circus, der im Ausland bereits die Zuschauer in Massen begeistert, direkt zum Publikum!

Auf dem Festivalgelände gibt es außerdem Kunst, Livemusik, Getränke und verschiedene Leckereien.

Veranstaltet von Berlin Circus Production

berlin-circus-festival.de

Das Berlin Circus Festival findet jährlich im Sommer statt.

Die diesjährige Ausgabe muss aufgrund der Corona-Pandemie leider verschoben werden und wird momentan für Winter 2020/21 geplant. Genauere Informationen finden sich auf der Festival-Website.

Fratz International

Darstellende Künste für die Jüngsten

Fratz International ist bundesweit das einzige Festival speziell für die Zielgruppe 0-6 Jahren. Alle zwei Jahre lädt Fratz eine Auswahl von bemerkenswerten Gastspielen aus unterschiedlichen Ländern ein, um diese dem Berliner Publikum und der bundesdeutschen Kindertheaterszene zugänglich zu machen und einen internationalen Austausch zu befördern. Aus der Überzeugung heraus, dass Kunst und Kultur allen Menschen unabhängig von Alter, sozialer oder kultureller Herkunft zugänglich sein sollte, gehört es zum Kern des Festivals, dass die Gastspiele verteilt über ganz Berlin gezeigt werden – an temporären Spielorten in Bezirken, in denen sonst wenig Theater stattfindet.

Veranstaltet von Theater o.N.

www.fratz-festival.de

Das Fratz findet jährlich statt.

Die diesjährige Ausgabe (24. bis 29. April 2020) muss aufgrund der Corona-Pandemie leider abgesagt werden. Genauere Informationen - auch zu eventuellen Nachholterminen - finden sich auf der Festival-Website.

Freischwimmen

Theater
Performance
Live Art
The Agency "Love Fiction", Foto: Piotr Rybkowski

Freischwimmen ist eine Produktionsplattform für Performance und Theater, getragen durch brut Wien, FFT Düsseldorf, Gessnerallee Zürich, Schwankhalle Bremen, Sophiensæle Berlin und Theater Rampe Stuttgart.

Die Plattform konstituiert sich seit 2018 in veränderter Aufstellung und unter dem Titel FREISCHWIMMEN neu als internationale Austausch- und Produktionsplattform für junge Gruppen und Künstler*innen aus Theater und Performance. Diese Neuausrichtung zielt dabei insbesondere auf eine größere Flexibilisierung des Modells: So gibt es nun mit Residenzen, Workshop-Showings und Gastspielen und Labs einzelne Module, die je nach den Bedürfnissen der Künstler_innen und Kapazitäten der Häuser unterschiedlich kombiniert werden können.

Die Module sollen jungen Künstler*innen und Gruppen ermöglichen, sich sowohl lokal als auch überregional besser zu verankern und zu vernetzen. Damit soll Raum für Experimente entstehen, der vom Erwartungsdruck an schnell produzierte Stücke befreit und eine langfristige Aufbauarbeit seitens der Produktionshäuser erleichtert.

Die Partnerhäuser schlagen Künstler_innen vor, die nach einem gemeinsamen Auswahlverfahren zu FREISCHWIMMEN eingeladen werden.

www.freischwimmer-festival.com

Ein fixes, an alle Häuser tourendes Festival findet nicht mehr statt. Die beteiligten Häuser treffen individuelle Entscheidungen über die Ausrichtung selbst kuratierter FREISCHWIMMEN-Festivals oder die Einladung einzelne Produktionen zu bereits bestehenden Festivals und Themenschwerpunkten.

Ikarus-Spielzeit

Kinder- & Jugendtheater

Veranstaltet von JugendKulturService gGmbH Berlin

http://jugendkulturservice.de

Die Aufführungsreihe findet jährlich im Herbst statt und mündet in der Preisverleihung im November.

No Limits

Theater
Tanz
Performance
Film
Installation

Veranstaltet von Lebenshilfe gGmbH Kunst und Kultur in Kooperation mit HAU Hebbel am Ufer, Theater Thikwa im F40, Ballhaus Ost, Sophiensäle

www.no-limits-festival.de

Das Festival findet alle zwei Jahre statt, die nächste Ausgabe 2021.

Purple

Tanz für junges Publikum
Iron Skulls Co. "Sinestesia", Foto: David Brock

Neben einem professionellen Bühnenprogramm mit zahlreichen Tanzvorstellungen bietet das internationale Tanzfestival für junges Publikum auch ein umfassendes Rahmenprogramm. In Zusammenarbeit mit den beteiligten Künstler*innen finden Werkeinführungen, Gesprächsformate und kostenlose Workshops für Schüler*innen unterschiedlichen Alters und für Lehrer*innen statt.

Das Festival will Kinder und Jugendliche neugierig machen und für den Tanz  begeistern. Dafür stellt es ein lustvolles und dynamisches Programm mit verschiedenen ästhetischen Ansätzen und inhaltlichen Fragestellungen aus der internationalen, zeitgenössischen Tanzszene zusammen.

Das Festival will nicht nur die Sehgewohnheiten von Kindern und Jugendlichen schärfen, sondern auch zum Mitmachen, Mitfühlen und zum Weiterdenken animieren. Es richtet sich an Kinder und Jugendliche ab 6 Jahre, sowie an alle Interessierten. Die meisten Tanzvorstellungen finden vormittags statt, um den
Klassen den Besuch im Rahmen des Schulunterrichts zu ermöglichen.

Der Hauptstandort des Festivals sind die Uferstudios in Berlin-Wedding. Das Festival kooperiert mit TanzZeit e.V. im Podewil (Berlin-Mitte) und Theater Strahl.HalleOstkreuz (Berlin-Lichtenberg), wo jeweils weitere Tanzproduktionen aus Berlin präsentiert werden.

Künstlerische Leitung: Canan Erek
Festival Management: Inge Zysk

purple-tanzfestival.de

Purple - internationales Tanzfestival für junges Publikum findet jedes Jahr im Januar statt, die nächste Ausgabe vom 16. bis 24. Januar 2021.

Tanz im August

Tanz

Tanz im August ist Berlins internationales Festival für zeitgenössischen Tanz. Jedes Jahr lädt das von HAU Hebbel am Ufer präsentierte Festival in vier Wochen das Publikum ein, die gesamte Bandbreite des Tanzes zu erleben. An vielen Spielorten in der ganzen Stadt erwartet das Publikum Produktionen internationaler Stars und Newcomer als auch Choreograf*innen der Berliner Szene, darunter zahlreiche Uraufführungen und Deutschlandpremieren. Neben den Vorstellungen eröffnet Tanz im August in vielen begleitenden Publikumsformaten den Besucher*innen neue, ungewohnte Zugänge zum Programm.

Veranstaltet von HAU Hebbel am Ufer

tanzimaugust.de

Das Festival findet jährlich im August statt.

Die diesjährige Ausgabe (7. bis 29. August 2020) muss aufgrund der Corona-Pandemie in physischer Form leider entfallen und findet statt dessen als Tanz im August Special Edition 2020 statt. Nähere Informationen finden sich auf der Festival-Website.

Theater der Dinge

Zeitgenössisches Figuren-/ Objekttheater
Théâtre sans Toit "Cubix", Foto: Jean Yves Lacôte

Das internationale Festival »THEATER DER DINGE« zählt zu den wichtigsten deutschen Festivals des zeitgenössischen Figuren- und Objekttheaters. Das Festival reflektiert jeweils mit verschiedenen inhaltlichen Schwerpunktsetzungen aktuelle Trends und Tendenzen des Genres, lotet dabei Grenzbereiche aus und setzt auf das Experiment an den Schnittmengen zu den Schwesterkünsten. Eingeladen werden Inszenierungen, Installationen und Ausstellungen, die sich durch eine einzigartige künstlerische Sprache, eigenwillige ästhetische Qualität und inhaltliche Dringlichkeit auszeichnen.


Veranstaltet von Schaubude Berlin

www.schaubude.berlin

Das Festival Theater der Dinge findet jährlich im Oktober/November statt, die nächste Ausgabe vom 4. bis 10. November 2020.